Free zones authority inaugurates directors – Uganda

Tempo de leitura: 1 minuto

The Board consists of 2 representatives from the Private Sector and include; the Chairperson Frederick Kiwanuka and the Vice Chairperson, Grace Achire Labong, Stephen Kasangaki from Ministry of Finance Planning and Economic Development (MoFPED), Cleopas Ndorweire from the Ministry of Trade Industries and Cooperatives (MTIC), Robert. V. Nyombi from Uganda Land Commission (ULC), Lawrence Byensi from Uganda Investment Authority (UIA) and Stella Nyapendi Chombo an ex-officio member from Uganda Revenue Authority (URA).

While presiding over the inauguration ceremony, Kasaija, reiterated that the authority is mandate to establish, develop, manage, market, maintain, supervise and control Free Zones in Uganda under the Free Zones Act of 2014. He reminded the Board stick to and work towards achieving government’s main policy objectives of establishing Free Zones which is to promote investment in the manufacturing and processing sector in order to boost industrialization and exports

The Minister tasked the Board of Directors to ensure that the Authority’s objectives are aligned to Government’s aspirations as enshrined in the National Development Plan II and Vision 2040. He further urged the Board to spearhead the implementation of the Authority’s Strategic Plan, whose goal is to foster industrialisation, export-oriented investment and employment through establishment of strong and competitive Free Zones Schemes.

Kasaija commended UFZA for the achievements attained so far and urged the Authority to work even harder on improving the impact of the Free Zones Schemes in Uganda.

Leia mais

Os comentários foram encerrados, mas trackbacks e pingbacks estão abertos.